Grade K-2, 3-5, 6-8, 9-12

National Standards for Financial Literacy

Updated: April 20 2023,



This personal finance manual provides a framework for teaching personal finance in kindergarten through 12th grade.


The National Standards for Personal Financial Education is organized around six Topics, with Standards and Learning Outcomes expected by the end of the 4th, 8th, and 12th grades. The Topics are:

I. Earning Income

II. Spending

III. Saving

IV. Investing

V. Managing Credit

VI. Managing Risk

Topics need not be addressed in a particular order and Standards covered in earlier grade levels are not repeated unless there is an expectation for a higher level of learning or need to cover more advanced elements within the Topic.